Acknowledgments

Screen Shot 2014-06-23 at 9.49.51 AMI’ve always loved children. When I was a teenager, I babysat every weekend. I looked forward to being married and being a mother someday. I have been fortunate to have found a wonderful man and have 4 beautiful children.

When my oldest son started school I wanted to volunteer any chance I could in his classrooms. There was a program at the school for a parent to teach subjects once a month that would help children raise their self-esteem. I enjoyed teaching it so much that I continued for 10 years. The program became dated and so I decided to use my own ideas to supplement.

When the school was considering dropping the program I stepped up and asked if I could re- write it. My offer was accepted and it took me 3 yrs to perfect the lessons and here is my program “project-self esteem for kids”.

I would like to say thank you to Eileen Kostyk for trusting me to take over and write my own lessons. I would also like to thank some of the faithful mothers (my friends) who have helped teach the lessons at Butterfield; Marlo, Tangi, Nori, Misty, Christina, Vicky, Julie, Tish, and Susie.

Without my beautiful children this book would not go forth. I love you Jacob, Chandler, Travis, and Paige.

To my husband Larry, I love you more than anything, and you have always been my biggest supporter.

To my sister, Pamela, I thank you for always being my inspiration and paving the way for new adventures.

To my parents who love me and have always tried to meet my needs, wants, and wishes, I love you! Thank you, Barbara, for your beautiful drawings and Julie for your amazing photography.

This program is designed to help children raise their self-esteem. It is very versatile and can be taught in homes and schools.

For the use in schools a coordinator is essential. This person will find and be in contact with each parent volunteer who will be teaching the lessons. The coordinator will be in charge of keeping a supply closet with binders for each class with the lessons inside and the necessary materials needed. The parent volunteer will go to the supply closet each month before teaching to review the lesson and retrieve supplies that are needed.

The teachers appreciate the life lessons being taught each month and the students have a great time participating!

I will gladly use my expertise and experience to assist any school in developing this amazing program. Feel free to comment and request info.

Leave a Reply

